Day 2: Marrakech | 15 May 2014

May 15, 2014

A thrilling and overwhelming day, as I finally arrived in Marrakech. In Morocco. In AFRICA.

My luggage had other plans. Or rather, some dunce at MIA (I mentioned it’s my least favorite airport, yes?) didn’t do his job. Color me surprised.

This little transgression threatens to derail the entire trip, or at least the next week or so of it. I can’t very well go into the desert with only the clothes on my back, and I was supposed to leave Marrakech at 7AM on Saturday, leaving little over 24 hours to get the bag back. Which I need to carve out time to return to the airport to get, as they don’t deliver bags here. A little panic took me over about all this tonight and I’m trying very hard to get past it, and wrap my mind around what happens if I don’t get my things back tomorrow.

But back to the day.

 

The Marrakech airport is rather small, and has no arrival gates: you get out on the tarmac and walk up to the terminal to passport control. When the plane taxied down the runway and took a right toward the terminal, it felt like we were pulling into a Wal-Mart. Actually, it occurred to me that I think I’ve seen strip malls with Wal-Mart Super Centers in South Florida that are bigger than this airport.

After the discovery of the luggage debacle and a solid hour at baggage claim, I met my ride from Riad Shaden who drove me into the Medina. On the way in, at one point he turned to me and casually said, “This is the King’s palace.”. We were driving through it to get to the Medina. The Riads always suggest you hire their car service to bring you in from the airport and I fully understand why; to say that there is a “street system” would be overstating it.

I was met at the Riad by Youssef, the manager. He took my bags and walked me the last bit to the building itself, and we worked up a sweat doing so (it was 96 degrees today – a cool day when compared to the weather they got yesterday). “Come in and sit down, it’s cooler in here.”

Image

.

And then he appeared with some mint tea, and some tiny biscuits (cookies) I thought were cashews because of their shape and size. Yum.

Image

Image

 

He showed me to my room, the Amir Suite. Even more charming than it had been on their web site.

Image

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

~~~~~~~

Marrakech, so far, at least the Medina and the souk, remind me a bit of Lima. They make the Limeños look organized, though. The souk twists and turns, one shop after another, and even out of the souk into the Medina the “streets” are pathways shared by pedestrians, motorbikes, horses, donkeys, and the rare automobile.

Image

…and of course vendors. Everywhere.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Image

.

Best orange juice I’ve ever had. Squeezed to order. 49 cents US. I think I drank 4 today, all said.

Image

 

 

 

It was a good day.

I made some new friends:

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

 

I always pick favorites, though.

Image

 

.

.

.

 

2 Responses to “Day 2: Marrakech | 15 May 2014”

  1. sueslaght said

    Love the stunning colors in your photos. Fabulous!

  2. The chameleon on your hand made my eyes tear up. What a wonderful experience you’re taking in. So beautiful. And I’m glad you’re reunited with your luggage.

Leave a Reply

