Day 1: Travel Day | 14 May 2014

May 15, 2014

I love the excitement and the reminders and even some of the hassles that travel day brings. It’s the problem solver in me, I think, that looks forward to tackling the puzzle of getting somewhere I want to be.

The morning began in New Orleans, where B. dropped me off. It was a different terminal than I’ve ever been to; guess I’ve always flown Southwest in and out, and this time I was going American. It’s a pretty, old school terminal. I may be wrong about this, but I think it reminds me of JFK airport? I haven’t been to that one in a really long time.

IMAG0307

.

.

Storms in the south made it a really bumpy liftoff and ride, generally, but I found comfort in watching this guy for signals. He was on his way to work.

Image

“I’m going to be watching you for signals.”
“heheh. To make sure I don’t look worried?”
“Right. I don’t want to see any sweat forming.”

I’m more of a nervous flyer than I’d like to be, especially during turbulence. But I like going places, so I have to get over myself. Again, a good exercise, a challenge.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Into Miami, then out again, over the ocean.
I hate MIA, nothing’s changed about that. Glad I was only there briefly on the outbound.

A nice payoff, the gorgeous colors bouncing off these clouds at sunset (this was the east side of the plane).

IMAG0319_1

.

.

I was able to get some good sleep, and adjust strangely well to the time. I don’t usually do well with the adjustment flying in this direction, but maybe I’m getting better. We were flying east over Portugal and into Spain when the sun came up.

IMAG0327

.

.

…which brings us to Madrid where I write this. I’d forgotten the modern lines and colors of Madrid Barajas. Fantastic.

IMAG0342

 

IMAG0341

 

IMAG0340

 

IMAG0339

 

IMAG0337

2 Responses to “Day 1: Travel Day | 14 May 2014”

  1. Madrid Barajas is SLAYING ME.

Leave a Reply

